TNPSC Application and Status at

TNPSC stands for Tamilnadu Public Service Commission and you can generate an online application form for TNPSC.You can not only generate an application form but you can also check the status of your application online.

In an earlier post about Indian Government Jobs we had listed the web addresses of the leading Indian Government job recruiting bodies like the UPSC, SSC, RRBs and also Public service commissions of various states. In this post we shall look in detail about the Public Service Commission of Tamilnadu, TNPSC TAMILNADU PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION.

The TNPSC came into existence during 1929. It was then called Madras Service Commission and the Madras Province had the distniction of being the first province in India to establish a Service Commission. In 1957, due to the re-organisation of states, this was called as Madras Public Service Commission and in 1970, when the name was changed to Tamilnadu, it was called TamilNadu PUblic Service Commission (TNPSC)

The commission is headed by a Chairman and has 14 Members. They are all appointed by the Governor of Tamilnadu. It has also a Secretary and a Controller of Exams. The Controller of Exams is the incharge for notifying and conducting both direct recruitment and departmental exams.There are also Joint Secretaries, Deputy Secretaries, Under Secretaries,Section officers and subordinate staff who work to execute the functions of TNPSC.

The following are the important functions of the TNPSC:

  • to make direct recruitment to state subordinate and Ministerial services
  • to conduct department exams for government servants and
  • to act as an advisory authority to the government on matters of recruitment rules, appointments, promotions, transfers and disciplinary matters

Direct recruitment is conducted by TNPSC to various services for the Tamilnadu State Government. It has to notify, conduct the examinations and select the best among the applicants, duly following all the recruitment and reservation policies of the Tamilnadu State Government. The process of selection will vary from service to service. In general the following is the pattern of the examination.

  • Group I – 3 stages (preliminary, main Written, oral test)
  • Group II & III – 2 stages (main written, oral test)
  • Group IV – 1 stage (main examination only)

Department Tests are also conducted by TNPSC for the government servants. Around 170 tests are to be conducted by TNPSC every six months. TNPSC also conducts half yearly tests for probationers of IAS, IPS, IFS etc.

The detailed syllabus of various subjects (given below), of various standards of testing, are given on the website of TNPSC .

  • General Knowledge
  • General Tamil
  • General English
  • Post Graduate Degree Standard
  • Degree Standard
  • Diploma Standard
  • Certificate Course
  • Intermediate Standard
  • HSC Standard
  • SSLC Standard
  • Law
  • Civil Judge
  • Assistant Public Prosecutor Grade II
  • Medical Speciality Subjects
  • Miscellaneous

TNPSC notifies all the recruitments On the website here,. It also gives the schedule of exams, the results of the exams conducted, oral tests and all such information relating to examination conducted by TNPSC .

One can even generate TNPSC application forms online. All you need to do is to log on to website and click the register online button. You then have to fill up all the relevant details and click “Generate Online Application form“.

An unique application number is generated. Make note this number. Next type this number and your date of birth to generate an online application form. Print the pages (2 pages) and affix your signature, photograph and postal receipt towards application and examination fee and send this form to the TNPSC office within the stipulated period. So you need not travel to TNPSC to buy a form. Now you can also check the status of your application on this website, by clicking application status.

To know more about TNPSC and details of examinations log on to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *